THE POWER OF YES Part 2

Can this enticing line up work?  First step, is the Williamstown Literary Festival accessible?  Can I manage by myself?  A resounding ‘yes’ from the organiser, who is encouraging me to come over, ‘and here is my phone number, please contact me if I can assist on the day.’ How welcoming of him.

Second, is there any space left in the meditation retreat, only five weeks away?  To my surprise bookings are only about to open.  That’s a yes then.

Frank the master Chiro is also a big yes and can fit me in for three sessions over the week. The Miami Hotel in north Melbourne is an excellent budget hotel close to everything I need, and I have a warm exchange with the same friendly staff as my previous stays.  They offer me a discount on an accessible room.  If I’m going to stay nine nights, with lots of resting time, I need a bit more space than my usual cheapest room, and an accessible bathroom to ensure greater comfort and ease. 

Is this a Sign?

Everything I investigate comes back a yes.  Is this a sign?   

But leaving my physical comfort zone is also a resistance.  It’s a big step going solo, especially with widespread disrupted air travel, I’m vulnerable on my own.  If it wasn’t for covid, back in ‘normal’ times I would more easily say yes.  But I also have concerns about how my body will manage.  Staying comfortable, supporting my neck and back so they are not aggravated and painful which can then become entrenched, while navigating airports (and overly large wheelchairs), planes, cars, cafes, different seating, beds and pillows is a challenge.  I usually travel with a friend who will help on many levels such as standing in queues, communicating and carrying stuff.

Feeling Fit and Strong

I’m in a really good place physically.  I feel strong and fit. I’m walking further than I have been able to for a long time, which is needed in this kind of travel. The most persistent and debilitating issue is my neck slightly dislocating.  Finally, after tripping over and jarring my neck at Easter, with the help of my local Chiro (Dr Liam at Cottesloe Chiropractic) and a new pillow, it is now stable and I’m free of the fatigue, headaches and brain fog it creates. I’m loving the contrast with feeling clear and sharp. It’s only that I’m doing better that I’m even considering the rigours of travel.

The Pros and Cons

So I’m balancing the pros and cons, torn. Everyone I speak to about my dilemma to jump into this most exciting opportunity or stay home, safe in my physical comfort zone, say I should go.  Even my GP, and my most wary-of-Covid friends.

When I imagine not going, and missing out on the opportunities beckoning, I feel disappointed.  Coming out of two quiet years, they feel amplified in significance. It feels important to show up.

I work through all my resistances: how to stay safe, how to manage physically and give body care a high priority (eg. props like cushions and mini latex mattress, lots of resting in between outings, eating outside at restaurants, going a day early so I’m refreshed for the festival, getting the accessible rooms at the hotel and retreat); how to navigate my way when strangers often don’t understand my speech, more so wearing a mask (notepad and pen).   Then there’s adding to my carbon footprint, which lead me on a journey to discover the most effective of dodgy offsets (still a work in progress).

Jumping In

So many yes’s and adaptations make it all fall into place and finally, despite the risks, the pull of the three is irresistible.  I have to jump.

Then a bonus.  My dear friend Gitika, who has been my travelling companion on numerous adventures, a highlight being an epic trip to Tasmania in late 2019, says she wants to come to Melbourne for the weekend.  The trip becomes more fun and easier. ‘I need some excitement too’ she says ‘I want to support you at the festival and I can revisit childhood places.’ Not to mention I will have her other alias, ‘Dave’ (as in Attenborough) my photographer ever since our Tasmanian trip, for social media posts.

So a few weeks later I’m on the plane, as prepared as I can be and ready for what will unfold. 

Thankfully a smooth run, and excellent help by busy Virgin staff with the wheelchair assist program, straight to a taxi outside and a warm welcome at the hotel. 

Melbourne

I love being back in Melbourne. I feel a bit like a country bumpkin visiting the big smoke, it’s exciting.  This is my sixth time in four years, and I’ve gained in confidence getting around, managing on my own. I’m totally killing it getting to and from the Errol Street shops and cafes from my hotel (which took me three visits to even attempt). I stock up on supplies so there’s food if I’m not up for leaving my room. I love the vibrancy, it’s great for watching the interesting array of people.  ‘There’s a vibe here I love’ I say to Gitika.  Even better to share it all with a friend.  Thereafter ‘it’s the vibe’ becomes our favourite phrase.

Errol Street North Melbourne

Williamstown reminds me a little of my home town of Fremantle, an old port about twenty minutes from the capital city, on the rivermouth, many historical buildings, character.  We’re delighted by the venue for the Willylit Festival, a grand old building with a large wood panelled hall, and many other rooms, seeped in the history of being a community hub. And all completely accessible and everyone encouraged to wear masks. 

The Willy Lit Festival

Our first session at the Festival is with Peter Quarry who has written a memoir self help book “If I Were You”.  Even with a profile as a former regular guest on morning television he says ‘Getting published wasn’t easy.’  He’s taken an innovative approach to examining his life and challenging early years by alternating between himself as a psychologist and himself as his patient.  We are both moved by what he shares and buy his book, lining up to meet him.  Well… the reality being, Gitika lines up, and I sit on a chair until she is at the front of the queue (part of the well-practiced behaviour of old friends with me).

With Peter Quarry at WillyLit Festival

I say to him ‘I’m interested in how you brought memoir and self-help together.  That’s what my book combines as well, and I find myself downplaying the self-help bit as though it’s not as acceptable as memoir.’ He’s having trouble understanding me with the mask on and the background noise, Gitika translates. He pauses as he looks at the line of people waiting and says ‘Tell you what, how about we meet over Zoom.  Read the book and when you’re ready we can discuss it then.’  ‘Wow, that’s a generous offer, thank you so much!’ I say.

What an excellent start to the festival.

To be continued …

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to THE POWER OF YES Part 2

  1. Eleanor says:

    Look forward to the continuation!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment